A Message from the Void

By Paul T.

Three months ago I quit my job, and the sublet on my apartment came to an end. I was essentially jobless & homeless.

I was essentially jobless and homeless…. O.O

This is not the vision of June 2013 that I had in mind. At the beginning of the year I was working what I thought would be my dream job, and living in a neighbourhood in Toronto that I eventually want to settle in. The future looked bright.

Things didn’t go as planned at my ‘dream job’ unfortunately. The nature of the role turned out to be different than what was originally discussed.  I wasn’t interested in the work that landed on my desk, and I knew within a month that I didn’t want to be there. I resisted my urge to quit on the spot and gave it an additional two months to make sure that I wasn’t making a mistake in leaving. Eventually I decided leaving was the right decision.

I am writing this message to you from ‘the void’. At the moment I still have no job, no apartment or security. This could be cause for despair but I actually find it liberating (for the most part…). And here’s the weird thing – when I stop and count my blessings I’m really not that bad off. I have had tremendous support from my friends, family and acquaintances. It’s quite miraculous, really. My connections have provided me with a place to stay free of charge, loaned me money, set up informational interviews for me, informed me of job opportunities, provided me with timely tips & mentoring, etc. Usually without me asking. I am humbled by the willingness of others to support me.

Ironically this is turning out to be a fantastic opportunity. I’m using this time to figure out what I really want to do. I’ve found some interesting leads and I’m preparing to make some big changes. I have no regrets for taking this path, and feel more in control than I think I ever have.

My point in writing this post is that there is a lot of fear around leaving security behind to pursue one’s dreams, or when one knows it’s time for a change. I want to show you that one can survive a situation like this – and that you might be surprised by how things work out. Sometimes you have to sacrifice security to get what you really want.

DISCLAIMER: I’m definitely not advocating quitting your job without a plan. But sometimes you know in your heart that it’s something you need to do. For those of you considering quitting your job, here’s a link to a great article about approaching this thoughtfully (check out the decision tree included in the article).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Message from the Void

  1. Sarah says:

    Glad to read this Paul. I’ve been thinking about you this weekend (wishing you at the pride dance with me last night), and wondering how you’ve been faring with things on your end and how your patience is holding up. Talk to you soon!
    Sarah

  2. Nicole :) says:

    Courage in following what you know to be your truth. Freedom in letting go of what we/society always thought was ‘security’ (or is it really ‘obligation’?). 🙂

  3. Tony Fedun says:

    I remember those exact moments when I left to travel North America on my motorcycle. No career left, no home, not much left of material belongings. The very things I had collected over years and ‘thought’ had value. Fear was replace by daily wonder. Every day I was amazed by the people, place and things that were place in my path and opened up a new world that I did not know existed. One day at a time.

  4. pt77 says:

    Nicole: I see what we call ‘security’ nowadays as ‘prison’. It seems like there’s no middle ground. Either you work 40 hours or nothing. If you want to pay your bills and to have benefits you have no choice. It’s so nice to be out of the grind for a bit.

    Anthony: Yeah, one day at a time. Sadly at the moment I’m not on an adventure like the one you had, but if all goes according to plan there will be time for that.

  5. AB says:

    Happy to hear your clear voice from the void, and trust soon you will be in bounty–job-wise and security-wise. xo.

Leave a Reply

