JFDI

By Paul T

AKA my new motto – “Just F**king Do It”. A co-worker of mine introduced this to me recently. Apparently this was the mantra at one of her past workplaces. In her role in the fundraising department there were many times when she was asked to go beyond her comfort zone and give a presentation to a large audience, or ask a donor for a large donation. JFDI helped her get through these challenges. JFDI directed her attention away from her doubts and fears and helped her focus on the task at hand.

I don’t know about you, but for me there have been many occasions when I have allowed my doubts, fears, anxiety, insecurity, etc. to hold me back. Too many times really. How many times have you wanted to do something but have gotten stuck in analysis paralysis? We are taught to favour safety and security. If there is any chance that something might go wrong and we might lose control many of us generally choose the safer path.

*  What will my friends and family think?
*  What if I fail?
*  What if I can’t find the money to pay for this new path?

I can think of countless times when there were things that I wanted – a relationship, job, volunteer opportunity, etc. Sometimes I acted on my desire and other times I didn’t. When I did pursue my whims things would either work out or not. Either way I survived and could lay claim to having the guts to do what I needed to do. In the cases where I didn’t act, generally I would be left with a sense of longing and regret for the path that I allowed to fade away. I think the second scenario is definitely the less attractive option.

In my opinion there are times to be thoughtful, practical and realistic. And there are times to be impulsive and follow your instinct. When it comes to matters of the heart and passion, sometimes you just have to trust that you are smart and resourceful enough to get through any challenges that will come up.

If you have reached a point where you know that there is something you need to do to be happy, and you feel that it is a reasonable risk to take – stop over-analyzing and Just F**king Do It  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to JFDI

  1. Theema says:

    I really need to adopt this motto. I spend way too much time analyzing and get all anxious about every little thing that could go wrong before actually doing it… so this really will save me a lot of time and anxiety. Thanks Paul.

  2. lunch4nine says:

    Great piece PT. Loved it…shared it…

Leave a Reply

